jordjenta / soil girl

It’s all gonna rot

It’s all gonna – yes, waste away


Secret rooms and the dark side of the human mind inspire this visually arresting trio. Soil Girl launches itself onto the stage with gale force energy. Death is the most normal thing that could happen.

Soil girl is inspired by the eponymous poem by playwright Maria Tryti Vennerød (Norwegian: Jordjenta). In it, a young person looks for something earthy, eternal. Berstad/Helgebostad/Wigdel wondered what they have in common with the protagonists of this poem. The performance is based on an bewildering inward examination: Where lies the dark sides of the soul? What secret spaces are hidden within?

Soil Girl premiered at Black Box in 2013, and has since been selected for the International Aerowaves Network 2015 and Ice Hot Nordic Dance Platform in 2014. Touring includes Oslo International Theater Festival / BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen) / Festiviteten (Haugesund) / Teaterfestivalen in Fjaler / Ice Hot 2015 / RAS (Sandnes) /  Dansefestival Barents (Hammerfest) / Ravnedans (Kristiansand) / Bora Bora (Århus) / Rotterdamse Schouwburg (Rotterdam) / Nordwind festival (Berlin) / Muzeum umění (Oloumuc) / Aerowaves Spring Forward 2015 (Barcelona) and Impuls Tanz (Vienna).



Full performance:


Concept/Choreography/Performers: Kristin Helgebostad, Ida Wigdel and Ingeleiv Berstad

Composer: Siri Schippers Skaar

Scenography: Silje Linge Haaland

Costume: Berstad/Helgebostad/Wigdel and Chrisander Brun

Lighting design: Chrisander Brun

Dramaturge: Huy Le Vo

Text: Maria Tryti Vennerød

Producer: Anne Cecilie Bodin Larsen

Video documentation: Vibeke Heide

Supported by: Norsk Kulturråd / Fond for lyd og bilde / Fond For Utøvende Kunstnere / Dramatikkens Hus